Monday, March 28, 2022

Sitovi Guild (Glog Class): The Undying

Congrats, you died, but you figured out how to survive anyways. People probably think you're nasty and more than a little bit cursed (if you're a carrier for diseases then they're arguably right) but the perks more than make up for it. Probably.

This is a little bit incomplete, theres no list of prosthetics for example. When I make a list of those I'll either include them here or make another post.

You may notice that the higher levels are a bit broken. They rely on a resource you need to take time to harvest, however, and if you're a greedy motherfucker who hoards all that life force then you deserve to be able to flip the table and punch the fucker giving you shit at least once.

  1. First Level 
    1. Undying: You cannot die from blood loss or feel pain. Or rather, you can feel pain but it's numbed. What kills you must be the “instant death” effects on the death and dismemberment table. Slow death effects will render you catatonic with pain (despite your normal immunities) for 1d12 hours before you recover (assuming you are not killed in the meantime). 
    2. Macabre Prosthesis: You get “Prosthetic Slots.” These are either designed or salvaged body parts. You can only have up to twice your undying level at once. However, you get “free” slots if you are missing body parts. Essentially, replacing a limb does not take up a slot, but adding them does. 
  2. Second Level 
    1. Undead: You are undead (though you were likely considered one already). This means that you no longer take damage from poisons or diseases (previously they could interfere with the channels of life energy in your body, or outright damage your cellular structure). You can still act as a “carrier” for these things, however, so be careful. Furthermore, you do not require food to survive, but may eat to recover hit points. Similarly, you do not require water or air to survive. 
    2. Revenant: When parrying, if you succeed you deal damage to the opponent equal to your undying level. You may choose to waive this for whatever reason. If you succeed you may optionally choose to take the damage anyways, in exchange for a free attack/gambit. 
  3. Third Level 
    1. Hungering: You may harvest life force. A corpse is always viable to harvest, but the total amount of life force you may extract is reduced by one die per day it has been dead. This may not apply in certain cases however (preservatives, or extremely difficult to kill entities). Life force dice are expended when used, but using too many at once can put a strain on your body. 
    2. Overcharge Prosthesis: You can expend life force to “overcharge” a prosthesis, the exact effects of which depend on the prosthesis in question and how many Life Force dice you spend. The maximum amount you can spend at once is equal to twice your undying level. 
  4. Fourth Level 
    1. A Third Way of Being: You now count as “alive” when it would be beneficial to you and “dead” when it would be beneficial to you. This means you can heal normally again, and retain the immunities of undeath. 
    2. Life Force Mastery: You may now spend life force dice to heal, or to attack others directly with it. When you spend the dice to heal, roll the dice you spent. Their Sum is how many hit points you heal. Damage works similarly, but you may split the sum between further attacks, or release them as a single ranged attack. 
Prosthesis Format 
  • Prosthetic: [Name/description] 
  • Slot: [Where it goes, what it replaces. If it's not replacing a lost part, it takes up a prosthetic slot]
  • Ability: [What it does with no modification. Can be passive, active, or whatever.]
  • Overcharge: [What happens when you force life force through it.]

1 comment: